Reviews

5 Stars

worth the price Gerry Likness from SD on 10/12/2019 12:00:00 AM wrote

excellent quality

5 Stars

Tree protection Andy from NY on 10/6/2019 12:00:00 AM wrote

Ease of use around newly planted tree.

5 Stars

Just what I was looking for! Marv from CO on 9/1/2019 12:00:00 AM wrote

Could not find these anywhere, you had them and I got them right away.

5 Stars

Just perfect Vicki from TX on 6/14/2019 12:00:00 AM wrote

Just exactly what I needed to protect my red oaks from the deer rubbing on them. Very easy to install and attractive in the landscape.

5 Stars

Tree Guards Clintonville Neighbor from OH on 5/25/2019 12:00:00 AM wrote

These look much better than tree wrap (for deer rubbing their antlers against the trunk), allow air flow around the trunk, and don't strangle the tree as it grows. Easy to cut to allow for small side branches.

5 Stars

Works great Donna from AL on 4/24/2019 12:00:00 AM wrote

We have a serious deer problem and have tried a number of different things to protect our trees. These secured with heavy duty zip ties work wonderfully

5 Stars

Not very round John from South Jersey from NJ on 9/6/2018 12:00:00 AM wrote

Ordered both the 4 inch and 6 inch. 6 inch is nice and round. The 4 inch is more of a squashed oval making it seem much smaller in diameter. Much less obtrusive color than the green grow tubes. Oak seedlings did not survive in the green grow tubes. Will have to see how they do in these well ventilated tubes.

4 Stars

Right Product, Monopoly Pricing Christopher from MI on 7/17/2018 12:00:00 AM wrote

It is as advertised and does what it’s supposed to do, but it’s a plastic mesh in a circle, over priced.

5 Stars

Gold standard Mark S. from IN on 7/3/2018 12:00:00 AM wrote

These tree guards are what tree guards should be: strong, well ventilated, adaptable to different sized and shaped trunks. I'm glad I found them.

5 Stars

Easy to use Susan from FL on 5/5/2018 11:52:00 PM wrote

This guard works great on our Florida maple tree that we planted last year, our cats had already scraped the bark up with their climbing but that won't happen any more; this guard is exactly what our tree needed.

5 Stars

Leonard Rigid Plastic Mesh Tree Guards Sienna White from NJ on 1/14/2018 12:00:00 AM wrote

Great product. Protected my trees from deer destruction. Great deterrent. I've used the mesh wraps last year and they got ripped apart within days. This guard has very thick plastic material. Can be stretched wider or squeezed narrower together to fit your trees. Easily trimmed with sturdy clippers and scissors. Perfect solution to deer destroying my trees. So glad it came back in stock. Completely sold out and was so glad A.M. Leonard restock quickly!!

5 Stars

Great Deer Protection for Tree Trunks Homeowner from MO on 12/16/2017 12:00:00 AM wrote

Very effective means to protect your tree trunks from deer damage

5 Stars

Wonderful Product Joe from ME on 12/13/2017 12:00:00 AM wrote

I like these guards because they are sturdy, deer don't seem to be able to dislodge them, they aren't orange and so don't stick out in our landscaping. I've bought dozens of them and will continue to do so.

5 Stars

Great Service Homeowner trying to winterize and protect new trees from cold, h from MT on 11/13/2017 12:00:00 AM wrote

Very reasonable price, easy online order, thx for discount on first order, fast delivery! No dislikes here.

5 Stars

great service!!! joan from OH on 11/6/2017 12:00:00 AM wrote

i got just what i ordered. delivered very quickly.

5 Stars

Very Satisfied CStorino from MN on 11/5/2017 12:00:00 AM wrote

Very good product. Looks natural against the tree trunk. Sturdy but flexible. Very satisfied.

5 Stars

Maybe this will work! No Peeking from NY on 7/4/2017 12:00:00 AM wrote

The product is easy to wrap around the tree trunks. I used 1 on a narrower tree and doubled up on a wider trunk. Seems like it will work to protect the bark from deer antlers.

5 Stars

worked for newly grafted apple trees joel marquette from MN on 5/24/2017 12:00:00 AM wrote

I cut these into 3 pieces and used for my newly grafted apple trees along with bambo posts. they worked great.

5 Stars

improvement over tree wrap planter from IL on 4/4/2017 12:00:00 AM wrote

Doesn't hold moisture against the bark. Use a few small zip ties to hold the opening shut so the deer can't rub it loose.

5 Stars

Tree Bark Protectors Jeff from MI on 11/11/2016 12:00:00 AM wrote

Bought to protect young newly planted maple trees from being damaged by young male deer. Easy to install and are working well to fend off deer rubbing on the small tree trunks. Just what we needed for this purpose.

5 Stars

BG48 from IA on 11/6/2016 12:00:00 AM wrote

It is a good piece of equipment in the fight with mother nature

5 Stars

BG48 JT from TX on 11/6/2016 12:00:00 AM wrote

It is a good piece of equipment in the fight with mother nature

5 Stars

Great protection against critters and mowers including deer Mike from NJ on 8/22/2016 12:00:00 AM wrote

I really like these because they are rigid so they can withstand most assaults, although male deer will push against them or lift them up so for small trees with no lower branches rigid enough to block pushing by male deer, I anchor the bark protector with one or two metal deer fence stakes. The other reason I like these is that the mesh is very large so insects like earwigs don't live inside them and you can monitor the tree trunk health without moving the bark protector.

5 Stars

Best treecovers ever treefarmer from NY on 7/20/2016 12:00:00 AM wrote

Stops deer damage and is much better than metal cages.

5 Stars

Stop Deer Will from PA on 7/16/2016 12:00:00 AM wrote

Mesh tree bark protectors arrived in good shape, ahead of expected delivery date. Put them on my trees immediately and have been very pleased. Deer have not touched the trees! I anchored the mesh protectors to the ground with two cement blocks, wire around the blocks and zip ties. Worked great. Deer cannot lift the mesh protectors. Mesh protectors look good too. I highly recommend this product.

5 Stars

Tree protector Cal Ammons; Kansas Forestry Service Tree Farmer of the Year, 20 from KS on 7/9/2016 12:00:00 AM wrote

I really like this protector. I use it in combination with a t-post and a zip-tie. By tying only one side of the vertical slit to the t-post, I can open it, rotate it away from the tree and do pruning or other tree maintenance. When finished, I can rotate back around the tree again for continued protection from deer and rabbits. My fruit, nuts, and oak trees do great not being gnawed, browsed and rubbed.

5 Stars

Love these Kp from PA on 7/5/2016 12:00:00 AM wrote

Love how these hold form without use of zip ties.

5 Stars

Great deer thwarting device from WA on 6/13/2016 12:00:00 AM wrote

I have ten backyard fruit trees, no fence, and lots of deer. I planted the trees bare root two years ago (apples, plums, cherries, peach, apricot). I used the 2' version of these at the start to keep rodents away from the trunks, and made small, round cages out of t-stakes and wire fencing to keep the deer away. The cages were only meant to be temp b/c our neighborhood has rules about landscaping, and the cages were pushing it. This year 8 of the trees were robust enough to take the cages down, prune off the lower branches, and use the 4' protectors. (Usually I would prefer to keep the lower branches on the trees longer, but for the deer/neighborhood rules). The trunk protectors have worked beautifully. The browse height of our deer is around 5', so these protect most of the trunk. On a few of the trees I shifted the old 2' protectors to overlap at the top to get the 5' of protection. Although quite rigid, the protectors are easy enough to take on/off to snip growth from the trunks, etc. And they blend in enough that they look fine in our landscaped neighborhood. I love my orchard! Note: the trunk needs to be pretty straight for the 4' length to work (they are very rigid). If you have a curved trunk, you might consider a couple of the 2' length to allow some articulation.

5 Stars

Trunk protector Retired, maintain 4 acres around my home in Texas. from TX on 6/13/2016 12:00:00 AM wrote

I have lost several young trees to deer using the trunk to sharpen their antlers and to rub off the summer fuzz. By doing this they girdle the tree, killing it. With the rigid mesh tree bark protectors I no longer have that problem. Am presently using 8 of them and all is well.

5 Stars

Tree Bark Savers!! Insurance Agent Farmer from NY on 6/13/2016 12:00:00 AM wrote

They work great!! No more damage by rubbing deer.

5 Stars

protects from deer very well JMG from MD on 11/13/2012 12:00:00 AM wrote

I use the four foot size to protect my trees from male deer in the spring when they like to sharpen their horns on young, flexible tree trunks. It saves the trees from being wounded. Excellent product. I use cheap plastic ties. For fatter trunks you can flatten and tie two of these together. You can also stack a two foot and a four foot, to get six feet of protection. Once the tree no longer flexes, the deer seem to leave the biggest trunks alone.

4 Stars

Fast shipping! from on 10/26/2012 12:00:00 AM wrote

please note that you only receive ONE...not 5 as suggested. 5 star product but needed "ties" to come with it to make it a "5 star". great customer service!
A.M. Leonard: Please note, the product is now sold and priced in bundles of 5.

3 Stars

Need ties from MI on 5/12/2012 12:00:00 AM wrote

Like these- but they need to come with some sort of ties to keep them from falling off tree. Disappointed that they do not come with ties- especially for the price!